

# The 28th Annual **CONNECTICUT ASBDA**

## High School Honor Band Festival 2023

### Francis T. Maloney High School

Connecticut Chapter of the American School Band Directors' Association

### **PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS**

**Bacon Academy Berlin High School Bristol Central High School Coginchaug Regional High School Coventry High School Daniel Hand High School** Farmington High School **Glastonbury High School Guilford High School** Hall High School Lyme/Old Lyme High School Maloney High School Northwestern Regional 7 High School **Norwich Free Academy** RHAM **Simsbury High School Staples High School** The Gilbert School **Torrington High School Woodstock Academy** 

### **2023 CONNECTICUT ASBDA OFFICERS**

### **FESTIVAL PERSONNEL**

### Phil Giampietro – Symphonic Band Chair Wayne Spelttstoeszer – Wind Ensemble Chair Brian Cyr – Site Chair

### CT ASBDA OFFICER Wayne Splettstoeszer State Chair

### **JAMES E. JACKSON**

James E. Jackson III, Principal Euphonium in the U. S. Coast Guard Band (ret.), is a native of Lexington, Kentucky. He has completed course work towards the Doctor of Musical Arts degree in Euphonium Performance with an emphasis in Instrumental Conducting at the University of Kentucky. He received a Master of Music Degree in Euphonium Performance in 1995 from George Mason University (Roger Behrend) and a Bachelor of Music Degree in Music Education from the University of Kentucky (Dr. Skip Gray) in 1993. James was principal baritone of the Lexington Brass Band and a featured soloist with the band at the Mid-West International Band and Orchestra Clinic. He was a recipient of the Lyman T. Johnson Fellowship at the University of Kentucky, toured Spain as a member of The American Spiritual Ensemble, was the winner of the 1995 International T.U.B.A. Conference Tuba-Euphonium Quartet Competition, and the winner at the 1994 Leonard Falcone International Solo Euphonium Competition. James was a featured soloist and clinician at the 2011 World Association for Symphonic Bands and Ensembles (WASBE) held in Chiavi City, Taiwan and was featured soloist at Taipei's National Theater Concert Hall as a member of the US Coast Guard Band. He has been a clinician throughout the United States at numerous universities, colleges and public schools. James is Director of The Hartt School Symphony Band at the University of Hartford, Professor of Euphonium at the Hartt School, Professor of Euphonium at the University of Connecticut. James was Music Director and Conductor of the Thames Valley Youth Symphony Orchestra for 11 years.

### **AARON S. BURGESS**

**Aaron S. Burgess** is a dynamic conductor and music educator with close ties to the public school, collegiate and community music arenas. He is director of bands at Southern Cayuga Central School District in Aurora, NY, artistic director of the acclaimed Ithaca College Trombone Troupe, assistant conductor of the Ithaca Community Orchestra, and conductor of the Ithaca New Music Collective. His work in recent years also includes an appointment in the Trumansburg (NY) Central School District, conductor of the Ithaca College Symphonic Band, Director of Bands at Edwin O. Smith High School (Storrs, CT), adjunct faculty (music) at the University of

Connecticut, Director of Bands at Rocky Hill High School (CT), and conductor of the Connecticut Wind Ensemble. Burgess has collaborated from the podium with many artists and composers including Peter Steiner (touring trombonist), Timothy Smith (Buffalo Philharmonic), Greg Case (USCG Band), Louis Hanzlik (American Brass Quintet), and Barbara Hopkins (Hartford Symphony), and composers Dana Wilson, Kenneth Fuchs, Jess Langston Turner, Eric Ewazen, and Lewis J. Buckley. He has commissioned and premiered new works for winds and percussion and guest conducted numerous ensembles and honor bands. He holds a Master of Music in wind conducting from Ithaca college and a Bachelor of Arts in Music and a Bachelor of Science in Education from the University of Connecticut.

### THE 2023 ASBDA WIND ENSEMBLE

### SHIMMERING SUNSHINE – KEVIN DAY XERXES – JOHN MACKEY EVERYTHING BEAUTIFUL – SAMUEL HAZO

### **SYMPHONIC BAND PROGRAM**

SHELTERING SKY – JOHN MACKEY ILLUMINATION – DAVID MASLANKA INCANDESCENCE – ADRIAN SIMS ASBDA MARCH – ANTHONY SUSI

### THE 2023 ASBDA WIND ENSEMBLE



#### 2023 Connecticut American School Band Directors Association Wind Ensemble

James Jackson- Director

#### Flute

Joyce Li Ellie Catalfo Claire Carlson Delaney Nelson Matthew Reed-Brown Brian Inthisone Caralyn Parent

#### **Oboe**

Izabela Pauliny Natalie Groves

Bassoon Emily Smock Russell Miller Kevin Reas

Clarinet Jean Lee Stanley Wang Clara Gahm Eric Dagher Alexis Grasdock Dahlia Alexander Ginevra DeCerbo Rae Coombs Giovanni Assunto Madeline Leventhal Cameron McNally Kayleigh Murray

**Bass Clarinet** Kirby Reed-Brown Alto Saxophone Cole Webster Keily Butsch Tevis Pixton Chloe McCoole

**Tenor Saxophone** Jake Sauer Maddison LaVallee

**Baritone Saxophone** Quinn Knox

#### Trumpet

Bennet Johnson Abigail Langston Maddie Graves Douglas Griswold Caleb General Alex Mauldin Britt Housum Joseph Coombs Abigail Kane

#### French Horn

Evan Lionberger Olivia Arcari Mya Christman Isabella Minja Evan Cardona-Ramos

Dani Page **Piano** Will Cassidy

> **String Bass** Kate Ritzau

**Trombone** Parker Hodgman Cris Angel Rivera Ian Lehman Carley Bannerman Joaquin Fraga Caeden Fabas

#### Euphonium

Tyland Jackson Matthew Mandac Warren Carroll Joshua Clukey

#### Tuba

Aidan Pollitt Lucy Alletzhauser Fletcher Steimer Harsh Bhagat

#### Percussion

Lily Shuman Dawson Maraia Emil Berube Mateo Lofting Talia Millas Jason Robinson Alexa Odoy Dani Page

### THE 2023 ASBDA SYMPHONIC BAND



#### 2023 Connecticut American School Band Directors Association

#### Symphonic Band

#### Aaron Burgess - Director

#### **Flute/Piccolo** Natalie Buckley

#### Flute Kylin Broderick Felicity Forbush Stella Geronimo Sarah Kim Thien Lam Jordan O'Brien Charlie Dunlap Olivia Dahl Ben Simonds

#### **Oboe** Vander Zimmerman Emilia Costa Philip Bewersdorf

#### Bassoon

Kaden Zimmerman Isabella Oakley

#### Clarinet Jiayi Liu Isaac Lim Meghan Horan Max Levy Julian Vinuelas Kayla Kelley David Cottle Sophia Lopez Madeleine Enos Caterina Wilson Hannah Shlosser Charlize Pelletier Archie Kobetitsch

#### **Bass Clarinet**

Leah Jackson Miles Beck Nicholas Rodriguez Addy Morada Sorangel Baez-Batista Alto Saxophone Jayden Bryant Lillian O'Neil Aiden Creller Matthew McCarthy Donna Coombs

#### **Tenor Saxophone** Christopher Dagher Hadley Smith Prabhav Bettagere

**Baritone Saxophone** Finn Blake Anthony Olea

#### Trumpet

Julian Randall Logan Watts Ava Martinez Ryan Fusco Zachary Grodzicki Natalia Rodriguez Amber Van Alstyne Kendall Guest Ben Buyniski Drea Tutt Aniket Srivastav Lemon Dickens

#### French Horn

Nathan DeJackome Charlotte Galarneau Mary Gahm Victoria Parent Cassandra Burke Nolan Lederman Erin O'Farrell Mace Beckius

#### Trombone

Brayden Stapleton Farhan Nazmi Oliver Melmed Gavin Lim Deanna Juliano Sean York Jude Cappiello Michael Pasquariello Cole Wilson Emma Costa

#### Euphonium

Tao Pradith Mackenzie Hale Elijah Hane Emrah Snyder Brenden Keskula

#### Tuba

Evan Krom Patrick Minnerly James Slauta Leland Oxendine Dylan O'Brien

#### Percussion

Sophia Stephan Samantha Cicio Lydia Alfred Ethan Cavajani Parker Kristhoffer

#### Piano

Charlotte Galarneau